The Block Party

On Sunday we went to my aunt’s block party. We made salsa with corn. My cousin made sangria. BR was allowed a half baby cup sangria. He refilled it a couple of times, but I don’t know if anyone kept track. When the rum was taken out and shots were sampled, he sniffed around the kitchen asking us to open the bottle but we all said no.

By the end of the night I was hoping BR would stay with AP for a night or two; my mom said do what we needed to do. I vented my frustrations of him not cooperating, even though he acted polite. AP told UG about his “non-compliance” and BR overheard. He sat in the other room. I asked him to join us and he said no — he also wanted me to take him to my mom’s, where it was definitely unsafe for him to be, if MMK or MJ were there. There was always the threat of them outright blackmailing him over pressing charges.

He said if someone was going to say he was non-compliant, that is how he would be. Every time I tried to talk to him he was irrational. I was stressed out to the point of crying. Eventually he said he would walk home from there, making me so angry that I yelled at him to walk.

I cried. He cried. I brought him some ice water and napkins and hugged him and apologized and called my mom. She said he should do what I tell him, that he wasn’t worth my tears because he was using me and manipulating me and that is what he does to her. Eventually BR and I were fine and AP came in. I asked BR to please wash his face, blow his nose and stop to use the restroom before we left. He refused. AP asked him if he wanted to stay there but told him he would have to be “compliant”. He said he just wanted to stay with me. AP told him he was “non-compliant” again. I asked him to, again, wash his face before we left. AP told him this is how he is being “non-complaint” — by not listening to me. He stomped out with no shoes and sat by my car. I mused about his attitude, my mom’s attitude and the whole situation for a few minutes.

We gathered our container from the salsa and shoes and BR’s things and we left.

This entry was posted in King Family, my brother and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment